Survey

I’ve made up some questions

And I have put the questions out for consultation and I have revised them.

These are Ann’s initial thoughts and my original questions

Good morning Caroline
These are my initial thoughts.
If you want results from which you can draw conclusions  you will need a few numbers so QUESTION 1 could be 
Have you come into contact with people who are blind, visually impaired, deaf etc.  Please tick as appropriate
You then have a percentage of the people taking the survey as to how many people might have experience of disability.
Then when you go on to your questions the “ are you comfortable with” gives you some idea of the base you are working with.   EG 1% of respondents knew someone who was deaf and 1% were comfortable with this disability so you can draw a conclusion.  Or 1% knew someone with a disability but no one was comfortable with this particular disability.
Simplicity is the key to a good questionnaire
In this case you need to ask a simple question 
Do you feel comfortable around people who are ….then the disability
Mostly if people are not comfortable they will not be confident so both words are not necessary.  If you give people two words they swither over that before they get to the question.
The questions with choices are great.  However I think the wording Explanations is confusing explanations of what?   The fact that they dont know or have no contact.   It doesn’t add anything and you cant explain what you dont know.
With the deaf question It might be easier to ask if the answer to feeling comfortable around people who are deaf is yes a second question could be “. Have you had any experience of British Sign Language”.?   I think the speech impediment question could be one on its own in order to get a proper result.
Although you are meeting all these people it is possible that they will just want you to leave the questionnaire so it is important to get it right on paper as well.
I hope these comments are helpful.   I had to draw up a paper on attitudes to mental health when I was giving talks in schools which I then gave as a report to a conference in Glasgow so I know it is a minefield and you do need to get the right questions so you can draw conclusions.   It took me many drafts and discussions with people to get it right.   Good luck and if you need anything else I will always help if I can.
Ann
On Fri, 10 May 2019 at 10:49, Caroline barr <cwbuk67@gmail.com> wrote:
No rush take easy
On Fri, 10 May 2019 at 10:46, Elizabeth Donnelly <eanndonnelly@gmail.com> wrote:
Hi Caroline 
I will take a look and get back to you tomorrow having a rest day today.  Any luck with your phone?
Ann
On Fri, 10 May 2019 at 10:43, Caroline barr <cwbuk67@gmail.com> wrote:
• Do you feel comfortable and confident around people who are blind 
Yes very.  yes but a bit nervous I don’t know.          No.          I avoid contact
 
If the last three an explanation please 
If you want 
• Do you feel comfortable and confident around people with a visual impairment?
◎ Yes very.  ◎ yes but a bit nervous ◎ I don’t know.         
◎  No.        
◎   I avoid contact
 
If the last three an explanation please 
• Do you feel comfortable and confident around people who are deaf
• Do you know bsl
Yes very.  yes but a bit nervous I don’t know.          No.          I avoid contact
 
If the last three an explanation please 
What about deaf blind
• Do you feel comfortable and confident around people who are deaf and have a speech impediment
Yes very.  yes but a bit nervous I don’t know.          No.          I avoid contact
 
If the last three an explanation please 
Do you feel comfortable and confident around people with limited Mobility 
Yes very.  yes but a bit nervous I don’t know.          No.          I avoid contact
 
If the last three an explanation please 
Do you feel comfortable and confident around people who use a wheelchair 
Yes very.  yes but a bit nervous I don’t know.          No.          I avoid contact
 
If the last three an explanation please 
Do you feel comfortable and confident around people who use a communication device be it a bliss board or an electronic device 
 Yes very. yes but a bit nervous I don’t know.          No.          I avoid            Contact
 
If the last three an explanation please 
Have you ever felt like you have said the wrong thing to a person with a disabilities, it’s ok I do it all the time.
All the time.        Sometimes            never
Do you know about Neatebox ?
◎ Yes 
◎ No
◎ Unsure 
What has been your experience of Neatebox 
Does having the extra information from the welcome app make it easier for you to approach   People of disabilities 
Is there any improvements that you would make

 

Sent from Gmail Mobile

 

Ann Donnelly

Published by The Duchess

I have a disabilities and I’m doing a Discovery Award. Here is more about discovery https://padlet.com/colmitch/ymdugticy4q5j9un